CarersBlog

carersblog.wordpress.com

Review of Carers Direct

A recent review of Carers Direct  –  the national service providing information to carers –  found that the carers who used it found it helpful, but also emphasises the importance of links to local sources of help and advice. It also helps to highlight carers’ issues and give these a higher profile.

The draft Care and Support Bill also highlights the need for accurate information and advice for carers and the people they care for, in order to be able to make choices about care and caring.

Local carers’ organisations are often in the best position to be able to provide the practical information and face to face support which is vital for carers.  We support the review’s conclusion that there should continue to be a national source of high quality information for carers. We hope that improved ways can be found of ensuring link-ups with the right local services to ensure the needs of carers and their families can be met.

The review can be found here:

http://www.dh.gov.uk/health/files/2012/08/Review-of-Carers-Direct-information-and-advice.pdf

August 15, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I have received no help from anyone with the caring role. I only have carers come to shower my husband 5 days a week. A service for which I pay. I can’t understand why those who pay nothing in to the system get payments for everything and those who have worked and paid in to the system get nothing at all and have to pay for everything. I have cared for my husband for two and a half years and have had only two days off, even then I was called home as those caring could not cope. I got desperate, I was ill with Bell’s palsy, I phoned social services who asked if I could manage just 24 hours more… 2 months later I am still waiting. If I am a sample of a carer then we get a raw deal. There is a lot of talk a lot of paperwork, a lot of interviews.. but nothing. I am falling apart and no-one seems to care.

    Comment by Irene brindle | December 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

